<excerpts from tate's "the blue canyon">
2006-08-16.2:26 p.m.


excerpts from "The Blue Canyon"
James Tate


       (for Fred Will)


               1.

The way you think of me, radio strangers to you.
I wish I were departed "departed hastily"
and never come back not even goodbye.
Hair wandering over a book through the body

causing real pain.  The blue angel
is of no use now with a terrible twist
of the soul, the trees are bristling
with sparks, I could still see the trees.

To be something different like a brussels sprout
it's as if we were ants so far away
made of charcoal made of dust,
good enough to erase and coming down

if I had not grown up dissolving into
the swan the way they think of me.


               from 3.

this isn't even my chair, knives with arms.


               6.

Now decades are bowling pins for your perfumed revenge
it chews bombs naturally only the world didn't change.
Days passed like years with every song you sang,
in a sensible array of tatters we smoked.

And the swans, the swans are pasted together,
the very sunset in halves hauntingly,
I listened to what you were thinking about
and thumped into a bottomless free fall.

Get in bed and listen to the chicken's head
again and again, our children the little ones,
and the swans are ejected from the lake
suddenly and without notice.  First boil

a  mirror, then hurl a cow's eye at it,
I broke the dark, gone my day is gone.


               7.

Now and for always I kneel down
folded and stashed into high trees
myrtle ashcan zebra everything I love.
With perfect calm I entered

your mouth has grown over
on your meatball the angel
drove the thin line between worlds.
Almost, not quite, transparent

who wants to die come here,
finally blew all the circuits.
With avenues of pleasure
I am not responding to anything.

Enough crying was not enough.
I'm in the birdbath don't come in. 



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad