<tagore's "2" and "15" from gitanjali>
2003-03-23.2:07 p.m.


Poems 2 and 15 from Gitanjali
Rabindranath Tagore


2.
When thou commandest me to sing
it seems that my heart would break with pride;
and I look to thy face,
and tears come to my eyes.

All that is harsh and dissonant in my life
melts into one sweet harmony--
and my adoration spreads wings
like a glad bird on its flight across the sea.

I know thou takest pleasure in my singing.
I know that only as a singer
I come before thy presence.

I touch by the edge of the far-spreading wing of my song
thy feet which I could never aspire to reach.

Drunk with the joy of singing
I forget myself and call thee friend
who art my Lord.
                                 

15.
I am here to sing thee songs.
In this hall of thine I have a corner seat.

In thy world I have no work to do;
my useless life can only break out in tunes
without a purpose.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad