<mcdaniel's "absence">
2006-08-23.6:22 p.m.


Absence
Jeffrey McDaniel


On the scales of desire, your absence weighs more
than someone else�s presence, so I say no thanks

to the woman who throws her girdle at my feet,
as I drop a postcard in the mailbox and watch it

throb like a blue heart in the dark. Your eyes
are so green � one of your parents must be

part traffic light. We�re both self-centered,
but the world revolves around us at the same speed.

Last night I tossed and turned inside a thundercloud.
This morning my sheets were covered in pollen.

I remember the long division of Saturday�s
pomegranate, a thousand nebulae in your hair,

as soldiers marched by, dragging big army bags
filled with water balloons, and we passed a lit match,

back and forth, between our lips, under an oak tree
I had absolutely nothing to do with.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad