<tate's "apology for eating geoffrey movius's hyacinth">
2006-08-16.2:34 p.m.


Apology for Eating Geoffrey Movius's Hyacinth
James Tate


It has come to this,
a life of uncalculated passion
for the barely wriggling throb
of the invisible tube of force
that manufactures a laugh
for smothering pentagons,
fructifying useless poems,
and salvaging broken-hearted penguins.

Holy Kansas City, I hold onto
your earlobes
and blaze a trail
through Boston's murky yawn.
Happy to be grown-up at last,
I bathe my feet in rum,
I take off my shirt
and find serial numbers
chewing jagged holes
in my breasts.
As a result, I consider
blowing my nose in my mouth.

Another Palm Sunday has come and gone.
It's always a letdown.
Life's like that:
one day you're Saint James,
the next you're just the girl across the street
trying to think up a name
for a new cereal,
weird little nightmares
of death-colored snowflakes.

I arrived on your doorstep,
       a never-ending passion...
it has to be

       like this

           Spent

                       spend it all,

               quickly

the currency is always changing

       + SHELTER +
embarrassed to not be
a child
       ----EATING EVERYTHING
because it moves

because it does not move
fast enough

because you ARE it
and you love yourself
for being IT
       You dance
       you make love
to the red dog of sunlight

You speak of darkness
the absence of light

the abscess of light

I speak of the absence
of absence

--do not go away
               any of you

I WILL marry you, the whole lot...

       Tomorrow, I trust
           this is true

I invite my old age
to testify,
       proving
my plans were the worst

I failed everyone

because my "courage"
was instant sorrow

Such a word "courage"
a shudder runs through
an empty house

a puff of smoke shoots
from each fingertip

Lordy, what changes

       is the desire
       for grace

I forget each dawn
my raison d'etre

Surely the man who started
this poem
               is dead

His fingertips ate at
           my throat

But wait!

we boogie-woogie through
a reunion of terrors,
a decade
slashes its wrist.

                   A toast!

"If we were not genuinely
interested in orderly, effective,
quick destruction..."

Throw me a rope,

   free at last!

I am beginning to grow again,
I see eye to eye with a snail.

I am running toward you.

We are jumping out of windows,
expecting to make friends
with the people whose windows we pass.

I am a drugstore cowboy,
interested in mysticism,
violins and cannibalism.

For offering me a chair
in which to catch my breath,
to recollect my suicide
in tranquility,

       I praise your wife,
her cooking, intelligence and beauty,

your son and daughter,
the impeccable decor
of your terrific house,

your dog's gleaming coat
and fine breath,

the glass from which I drink,

your eternally warm and sympathetic hand
on my shoulder,

I praise the mysterious ways
of the universe

Which have allowed us to share
these truly memorable moments
in this starlit spectacle
of holocaust and slumber.

I am sorry I ate your hyacinth,
but it was so cold and lonely.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad