<koertge's "beautiful eyes for a boy">
2003-05-01.12:06 a.m.


Beautiful Eyes for a Boy
Ronald Koertge


We were a hundred miles from anywhere
as my grandmother smoothed the oilcloth,
rattled the wood stove, sniffed at the ground
round, her daughters, their husbands clustered
on the porch methodically kicking the yard
dog away from their good pants.

I took the Sears catalog and climbed to
the loft of the rickety barn.  I knew
the women in Foundations wanted the men
in Briefs and nothing could stop them from
meeting in Comforters & Quilts and kissing
until their blood hissed like broth.

***

Afterwards, dreamy in the straw, I heard
someone yell for me, then lean on the horn
of the Buick I would never be old enough
to drive.  I knew the ride home like the palm
of my hand: all two-lane blacktop with white
crosses where high school seniors hadn't
made the curve.

"In a minute!" I yelled.  And just before I climbed
down, I thought that I could set the whole place
on fire just by looking a certain way.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad