<dickinson's "[if i may have it, when it's dead, "]>
2003-04-04.8:04 p.m.


577 ["If I may have it, when it's dead, "]
Emily Dickinson


If I may have it, when it's dead,
I'll be contented--so--
If just as soon as Breath is out
It shall belong to me--

Until they lock it in the Grave,
'Tis Bliss I cannot weigh--
For tho' they lock Thee in the Grave,
Myself--can own the key--

Think of it Lover! I and Thee
Permitted--face to face to be--
After a Life--a Death--We'll say--
For Death was That--
And this--is Thee--

I'll tell Thee All--how Bald it grew--
How Midnight felt, at first--to me--
How all the Clocks stopped in the World--
And Sunshine pinched me--'Twas so cold--

Then how the Grief got sleepy--some--
As if my Soul were deaf and dumb?
Just making signs--across--to Thee--
That this way--thou could'st notice me--

I'll tell you how I tried to keep
A smile, to show you, when this Deep
All Waded--We look back for Play,
At those Old Times--in Calvary,

Forgive me, if the Grave come slow--
For Coveting to look at Thee--
Forgive me, if to stroke thy frost
Outvisions Paradise!



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad