<arnold's (excerpt from) "made flesh">
2003-03-30.10:15 p.m.


(excerpt from) Made Flesh
Craig Arnold


��We are so practiced in the art
of talking
����a craft as exact and neat
as a glassblower's
I bend to the furnace
lashes curled in a blast of heat
and dip the tip of a steel pipe
in a bulb of soul-soft glass
����I spin you
deftly
����prompt you into the shape
I want you
���always at arm's length
in a glove of woven stone
���I lift you
up to my lips
���empty my cheeks
blow you like a trumpet
��������turning
my emptiness into yours
���your hope
a bubble of soap ballooning frail

Bottle of all my faults
�����a world of glass
on which I've lost my fingerprints
impatient to admire my labor
and taking it up too soon
����before
the crystal cools
�the core of fire
red as a star about to fail
A globe in whose reflection I
am shown swollen
��gross and callous
the ogre of a fairytale
so cruel in his curiosity
he can't keep from popping the blister
can't help it
��can't resist
ruining everything with the slightest
tap of a finger
��������star struck
out of a mirror
���������gash of air
sucked into a punctured lung

This isn't supposed to happen
��������glass,
glass is a liquid
������given time
even a window flows like water
out of a frame
its bottom thickens
trickled down from the top
������a teardrop
centuries in shedding
�������Where
is the flashing-forth of energy
we call a violence
������clapping open
a window onto beauty
��������forcing 
matter a moment out of mold
green as the grass
green as the glass
at ground zero
�the bomb's white
blossom of more and less than sun
a lava field eddied and whorled
a stream one may not step in even once
a string never to be untangled
Where is the energy
��the injury
defended
the slight returned in fury
Why the surrender
���������why do you cave in
so quickly
����collapsing like the petals
folded out of a blown bud?
Nothing is broken
Can't you see?
Nothing can ever break
���������Our lives
are entwined as an ivy-heavy tree
with a galaxy put forth in every leaf

You stare at me as up the deep
black shaft of a burrow
��������where
once having hunted you
������I cannot talk you
out of
�����so we come to grief



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad