<lasker-schuler's "my silent song">
2004-01-15.9:16 p.m.


My silent song (Mein stilles Lied)
Else Lasker-Schuler
translator J.Canan 


My heart is a sad time,
soundlessly ticking.

My mother had golden wings
that found no world.

Listen, my mother looks for me.
Her fingers are lights, her feet wandering dreams.

Sweet atmosphere with blue drifts
always warms my sleep-

in the nights
whose days wear my mother's crown.

And I drink silent wine out of the moon,
when night comes lonely.

My songs wore summer-blue
and returned home dusky.

You scorned my lips,
yet you speak with them!

And still I reached for your hands,
for my love is a child and wanted to play.

And I adapted to you,
because I longed for what is human.

I have become poor
from your begging charity.

And the ocean will lament it
unto God.

I am the hieroglyph
written beneath Creation.

And my eye
is the pinnacle of time.

Its light kisses God's hem.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad