<szymborska's "on the tower of babel">
2003-03-30.10:48 p.m.


On the tower of Babel
Wislawa Szymborska


What time is it?--Yes, I'm happy
and all I need is a bell round my neck
to tinkle over you when you sleep.
--Didn't you hear the storm, then?  The wind shook the walls,
the tower like a lion yawned with its huge gate
on a groaning hinge.--Don't you remember?
I wore a plain dark dress
clasped over the shoulder.--And immediately
the sky splintered in manifold blasts.--How could I have
entered,
you weren't alone.  Suddenly I saw
colours that predated sight.--Pity
you can't promise.--You're right,
must have been a dream.--Why do you lie,
why do you call me by her name,
do you love her still?--Oh yes, I'd like you
to stay with me.--I'm not bitter,
I should have guessed.
--You keep thinking of him?--But I'm not crying.
--And is that all?--No one but you.
--At least you're honest--Don't worry,
I'll be leaving town.--Don't worry,
I'll go away.--Your hands so beautiful.
--That's an old story, the blade cut through
but left the bones intact.--No need to,
really, my dear, no need.--I have no idea
of the time, and I don't wish to have.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad