<manguso's "short essay on love">
2004-01-28.8:19 p.m.


Short Essay on Love
Sarah Manguso


I was in the alley and then I was in the restaurant.
Something had happened and I didn't know what it was.
All I knew was I was changed.
The train goes into the tunnel and comes out the other side;
the trembling child emerges from behind the curtain.
Unchain my heart, thou monstrous god.

This is a picture of love: two gondolas in the dark.
This is also a picture of love: a hill covered with snow
and in the distance just within view... a snowman.

Once I learned how to read the lines on the side of my hand,
I was never the same.
A love story: I am cold and happy
and then sleep on the divan and wake up sad.
In the morning I use the dusty toothbrush
that doesn't belong to anyone. Love?
Practice riding on a skateboard in an empty street at night.

Go to a high school football game.
Everybody there knows what love is.
Another love story:
I think there is a knife in my head somewhere.
Another: There was only one picture of me, and I took it.
Remember the names of towns.
Give birth to something that looks like you.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad