<cohen's "song of patience">
2002-11-28.11:08 p.m.


Song of Patience
Leonard Cohen


For a lovely instant I thought she would grow mad 
and end the reason's fever. 
But in her hand she held Christ's splinter, 
so I could only laugh and press a warm coin 
across her seasoned breasts: 
but I remembered clearly then your insane letters 
and how you wove initials in my throat. 

My friends warn me 
that you have read the ocean's old skeleton; 
they say you stitch the water sounds 
in different mouths, in other monuments. 
"Journey with a silver bullet," they caution. 
"Conceal a stake inside your pocket." 
And I must smile as they misconstrue your insane letters 
and my embroidered throat. 

O I will tell him to love you carefully; 
to honour you with shells and coloured bottles; 
to keep from your face the falling sand 
and from your human arm the time-charred beetle; 
to teach you new stories about lightning 
and let you run sometimes barefoot on the shore. 
And when a needle grins bloodlessly in his cheek 
he will come to know how beautiful it is 
to be loved by a madwoman. 

And I do not gladly wait the years 
for the ocean to discover and rust your face 
as it has all of history's beacons 
that have turned their gold and stone to water's onslaught, 
for then your letters too rot with ocean's logic 
and my fingernails are long enough 
to tear the stitches from my throat.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad