<levis' "the crimes of the shade trees">
2005-08-15.9:44 p.m.


The Crimes of the Shade Trees
Larry Levis


Today everyone forgave me.
No one mentioned the felony
Of my back against the oak
Or the air I was breathing, earlier.
So it is possible I am not Levis.

I smoke and think possibly
I am the smoke�
Drifting through Omaha as smoke does,
Past the south view of the slaughterhouse,
And the shade trees flushing with light.

And it doesn�t matter.
For example, if I am really
Something ordinary, a doorstep
Or the gleaming of frost on someone�s lawn
As he shaves, that would be alright.

I only mention this
To the caretaker of my absence,
Who dzes on a beige sofa.

While she knits us a bible
In which the blond remain blind,
Like shade trees. Filling with light,
Each leaf feels its way out,
Each a mad bible of patience.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad