<bell's "to be">
2003-05-15.1:49 a.m.


To Be
Marvin Bell


How could I wake from childhood
when everywhere I went there was breathing
like a mother's breath at the ear of her child
before words; when in all places
there was touch and people who defied
the magazines, who did not look perfect and dead;
when my bodyguard was luck
and my texts were songs and the humming of the planets.

It was necessary that I hear a sizzle
in the lungs, and a hum on the wires.  Fate decreed
that the magazines should multiply,
the child in me gradually decipher the air,
and the planets die.  Fate, which is Kingdom Come,
called me out of the crowd
where I was shopping or doing some busywork,
and told me to stop singing and just be.

But I had an idea.  Didn't the sun make it impossible
to look at the sun?  Wasn't the night
known only by nuance, the darkness unstudied?
If I contained the earth and all of its flowers
but did not once look at them, would anyone know?
Thus, in my neighborhood, passion--even rapture!--
survived in secret, and still a child appears
in the guise of a grownup at dusk and story-time.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad