<komunyakaa's "unnatural state of the unicorn">
2002-11-24.7:54 p.m.


Unnatural State of
the Unicorn
Yusef Komunyakaa


Introduce me first as a man.
Don't mention superficial laurels
the dead heap up on the living.
I am a man.  Cut me & I bleed.
Before embossed limited editions,
before fat artichoke hearts marinated
in rich sauce & served with imported wines,
before antics & Agnus Dei,
before the stars in your eyes
mean birth sign or Impression,
I am a man.  I've scuffled
in mudholes, broken teeth in a grinning skull
like the moon behind bars.  I've done it all
to be known as myself.  No titles.
I have principles.  I won't speak
on the natural state of the unicorn
in literature or self-analysis.
I have no birthright to prove,
no insignia, no secret
password, no fleur-de-lis.
My initials aren't on a branding iron.
I'm standing here in unpolished
shoes & faded jeans, sweating
my manly sweat.  Inside my skin,
loving you, I am this space
my body believes in.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad