<stern's "when i have reached the point of suffocation">
2002-11-24.7:59 p.m.


When I Have Reached the Point of Suffocation
Gerald Stern


When I have reached the point of suffocation, 
then I go back to the railroad ties 

and the mound of refuse. 
Then I can have sorrow and repentance, 

I can relax in the broken glass 
and the old pile of chair legs; 

I am brought back to my senses 
and soothed a little. 

It is really the only place I can go 
for relief. 

The streets, the houses, the institutions, 
and the voices that occupy them, 

are too hard and ugly 
for any happiness 

and the big woods outside 
too full of its own death--- 

I go to the stone wall, 
and the dirty ashes, 

and the old shoes, 
and the daisies. 

It takes years to learn how to look at the destruction 
of beautiful things; 

to learn how to leave the place 
of oppression; 

and how to make your own regeneration 
out of nothing.



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad