<ai's "blue suede shoes: a fiction">
2003-09-25.3:54 a.m.


Blue Suede Shoes: A Fiction 
Ai 


1
Heliotrope sprouts from your shoes, brother, 
their purplish color going Chianti 
at the beginning of evening, 
while you sit on the concrete step. 
You curse, stand up, and come toward me. 
In the lamplight, I see your eyes, 
the zigzags of bright red in them. 
"Bill's shot up," you say. 
"Remember how he walked 
on the balls of his feet like a dancer, 
him, a boxer and so graceful 
in his blue suede shoes? 
Jesus, he coulda stayed home, Joe, 
he coulda had the world by the guts, 
but he gets gunned, 
he gets strips of paper 
tumbling out of his pockets like confetti." 

Is Bea here? I say 
and start for the house. 
"No," you say. "This splits us, Joe. 
You got money, education, friends. 
You understand. I'm talking about family 
and you ain't it. 

The dock is my brother." 
Lou, I say and step closer, 
once I was fifteen, celestial. 
Mom and Pop called me sweetheart
and I played the piano in the parlor 
on Sunday afternoons. 
There was ice cream. 
Your girl wore a braid down the center of her back
The sun had a face and it was mine. 
You loved me, you sonofabitch, everybody did. 
In 1923, you could count the golden boys on your fingers 
and I was one of them. Me, Joe McCarthy. 
I gave up music for Justice, 
divorce, and small-time litigation. 
And you moved here to Cleveland-- 
baseball, hard work, beer halls, 
days fishing Lake Erie, 
more money than a man like you 
could ever earn on a farm 
and still not enough. 
Pop died in bed in his own house 
because of my money. 
Share, he always said, you share 
what you have with your family 
or you're nothing. You got nobody, boys. 
Will you cut me off now 
like you did 
when I could have helped my nephew, 
when you hated the way he hung on to me, 
the way he listened when I talked 
like I was a wise man? Wasn't I? 
I could already see a faint red haze 
on the horizon; 
a diamond-headed hammer 
slamming down on the White House; 
a sickle cutting through the legs 
of every man, woman, and child in America. 
You know what people tell me today, 
they say, You whistle the tune, Joe, 
and we'll dance. 
But my own brother sits it out. 


2 
A man gets bitter, Lou, 
he gets so bitter
he could vomit himself up. 
It happened to Bill. 
He wasn't young anymore. 
He knew he'd had it 
that night last July 
lying on a canvas of his own blood. 
After a few months, he ran numbers 
and he was good at it, but he was scared. 
His last pickup 
he stood outside the colored church 
and heard voices 
and he started to shake. 
He thought he'd come all apart, 
that he couldn't muscle it anymore, 
and he skimmed cream for the first time-- 
$10s, $20s. 

You say you would have died in his place, 
but I don't believe it. 
You couldn't give up your whore on Thursdays 
and Bea the other nights of the week, 
the little extra that comes in off the dock. 
You know what I mean. 
The boys start ticking-- 
they put their hands in the right place 
and the mouse runs down the clock. 
It makes you hot, 
but I just itch 
and when I itch, I want to smash something. 
I want to condemn and condemn, 
to see people squirm, 
but other times, 
I just go off in a dream-- 
I hear the Mills Brothers 
singing in the background, 
Up a lazy river, 
then the fog clears 
and I'm standing at Stalin's grave 
and he's lying in an open box. 
I get down on top of him 
and stomp him, 
till I puncture him 
and this stink rises up. 
I nearly black out, 
but I keep stomping,
till I can smell fried trout, coffee. 
And Truman's standing up above me 
with his hand out 
and I wake up always with the same thought: 
the Reds are my enemies. 
Every time I'm sitting at that big table in D.C. 
and so-and-so's taking the Fifth, 
or crying, or naming names, 
I'm stomping his soul. 
I can look inside you, Lou, 
just like I do those sonsofbitches. 
You got a hammer up your ass, 
a sickle in between your percale sheets? 
Threaten me, you red-hearted bastard. Come on. 
I'll bring you to heel. 


3
Yesterday Bill comes by the hotel 
and he sits on the bed, but he can't relax. 
Uncle, he says, and points at his feet, 
all I ever wanted was this pair of blue suede shoes, 
and he takes out a pawn ticket, 
turns it over in his hand, then he gets up, 
and at the door holds it out to me 
and says, Yes keep it. 

Today I go down to the pawnshop 
and this is what I get back--a .38. 
Bill didn't even protect himself. 
You have to understand what happened to him, 
in a country like this, 
the chances he had. 

Remember Dorothy and the Yellow Brick Road? 
There's no pot of gold at the end, 
but we keep walking that road, 
red-white-and-blue ears of corn 
steaming in our minds: America, 
the only thing between us 
and the Red Tide. 
But some of us are straw--
we burn up like Bill in the dawn's early light. 
He didn't deserve to live. 
This morning, when I heard he was dead, 
I didn't feel anything. 
I stood looking out the window at the lake 
and I thought for a moment 
the whole Seventh Fleet was sailing away beneath me, 
flags waving, men on deck, 
shining like bars of gold, 
and there, on the bow of the last ship, 
Dorothy stood waving up at me. 
As she passed slowly under my window, 
I spit on her. 
She just stared at me, 
as if she didn't understand. 
But she did. 
She gave up the Emerald City 
for a memory. 
I'd never do that, never. 
I'm an American. 
I shall not want. 
There's nothing that doesn't belong to me. 



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad