<ai's "nothing but color">
2003-09-25.3:53 a.m.


Nothing but Color
Ai


I didn't write Etsuko, 
I sliced her open. 
She was carmine inside 
like a sea bass 
and empty. 
No viscera, nothing but color. 
I love you like that, boy. 
I pull the kimono down around your shoulders 
and kiss you. 
Then you let it fall open. 
Each time, I cut you a little 
and when you leave, I take the piece, 
broil it, dip it in ginger sauce 
and eat it. It burns my mouth so. 
You laugh, holding me belly-down 
with your body. 
So much hurting to get to this moment, 
when I'm beneath you, 
wanting it to go on and to end. 

At midnight you say see you tonight 
and I answer there won't be any tonight, 
but you just smile, swing your sweater 
over your head and tie the sleeves around your neck. 
I hear you whistling long after you disappear 
down the subway steps, 
as I walk back home, my whole body tingling. 
I undress 
and put the bronze sword on my desk 
beside the crumpled sheet of rice paper. 
I smooth it open 
and read its single sentence: 
I meant to do it. 
No. It should be common and feminine 
like I can't go on sharing him, 
or something to imply that. 
Or the truth: 
that I saw in myself 
the five signs of the decay of the angel 
and you were holding on, watching and free, 
that I decided to go out 
with the pungent odor 
of this cold and consuming passion in my nose: death. 
Now, I've said it. That vulgar word 
that drags us down to the worms, sightless, predestined. 
Goddamn you, boy. 
Nothing I said mattered to you; 
that bullshit about Etsuko or about killing myself. 
I tear the note, then burn it. 
The alarm clock goes off. 5:45 A.M. 
I take the sword and walk into the garden. 
I look up. The sun, the moon, 
two round teeth rock together 
and the light of one chews up the other. 
I stab myself in the belly, 
wait, then stab myself again. Again. 
It's snowing. I'll turn to ice, 
but I'll burn anyone who touches me. 
I start pulling my guts out, 
those red silk cords, 
spiraling skyward, 
and I'm climbing them 
past the moon and the sun, 
past darkness 
into white. 
I mean to live. 



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad