<o'hara's "the trout quintet">
2003-05-15.1:05 a.m.


The Trout Quintet
Frank O'Hara


Okay let's go swimming
I don't want to
well then don't
I want some peanut butter
I want some cream soda

last night the moon seemed to say something
it said "eat"
I said there's nothing
it mentioned plankton
but it had all drifted away

do you think the sand
kills stones
(keep rippling)
no I don't think that
I'm still rippling

well who ever said anything's
done at Radio City Music Hall
except the bolero
but who's ever seen it
who asked

you will think the light
comes from somewhere else
but it comes from the floor

otherwise you wouldn't see it
you're always looking down

after the swim I sat
and rubbed the sand into my crotch
I want to go
to Spain
where the olive trees



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad