<olds' "true love">
2003-05-15.1:11 a.m.


True Love
Sharon Olds


In the middle of the night, when we get up
after making love, we look at each other
in total friendship, we know so fully
what the other has been doing.  Bound to each other like
soliders coming out of a battle,
bound with the tie of the birth-room, we
wander down the hall to the bathroom, I can
hardly walk, we weave through the dark
soft air, I know where you are
with my eyes closed, we are bound to each other with the
huge invisible threads of sex, though our
sexes themselves are muted, dark and
exhausted and delicately crushed, the whole
body is a sex--surely this
is the most blessed time of life,
the children deep asleep in their beds like a
vein of coal and a vein of gold
not discovered yet.  I sit on the
toilet in the dark, you are somewhere in the room, I
open the window and the snow has fallen in a
deep drift against the pane, I
look up into it, a
world of cold crystals, silent and
glistening so I call out to you and you
come and hold my hand and I say
I cannot see beyond it!  I cannot see beyond it!



back /& forth /& frosting
names are often sad